Prix de Rome 2013

Prix de Rome 2013

Opening: Public Preview Friday October 25, 6-9 pm
de Appel, Prins Hendrikkade 142, Amsterdam

The exhibition of the shortlisted artists of the prestigious Prix de Rome prize takes place in de Appel arts center from October 25 to January 26, 2014.

On 26 October, an exhibition opened in de Appel arts centre in Amsterdam featuring the work of four artists who have been nominated for the Prix de Rome 2013. Christian Friedrich, Falke Pisano, Remco Torenbosch and Ola Vasiljeva created new work which was assessed by the international jury. The exhibition was on show until 26 January 2014.

At a festive event on 5 November was announced that Falke Pisano has won the Prix de Rome 2013.

Winner 2013 Falke Pisano
On 5 November, artist Falke Pisano (NL, 1978) was presented the Prix de Rome 2013 by Minister of Culture, Jet Bussemaker, in the presence of Queen Máxima. Pisano won the prize for her new piece Prison Work. The award includes a cash sum of 40,000 Euros and a residency in Rome. The announcement of the winner was broadcasted live, see the stream here.

The international jury awarded the prize to Falke Pisano for her willingness to seek new challenges, despite her past success, and to embark on a new direction with great precision and conviction, building on what was. The jury wrote: “Even though distance is sought in time, with subjects from the past, the work remains compelling and up-to-date.” Pisano surprised the jury with what for her is a highly political installation in which she reflects on ‘the body in crisis’, based on a fascinating historical analysis of the consequences of privatization in the prison system. Read more

Starting times work Christian Friedrich
The installation by Christian Friedrich can only be entered by six people at a time. Starting times are: 12:12, 13:18, 14:25, 15:31, 16:38, 17:44 and 18:51 hrs.

Prix de Rome
The Prix de Rome is the oldest and most prestigious award in the Netherlands for artists under the age of 40. The award dates back to 1808 when Louis Napoleon introduced the Prix de Rome in the Netherlands to promote the arts. Although the award adopted various guises over the years, the aim has always been to trace talented artists and promote their further development and visibility. The Mondriaan Fund has organised the award since January 2013. The winner receives a prize of 40,000 Euros and a residency in Rome. The award and the organisation are funded by the Mondriaan Fund.

The four selected artists, together with 46 other artists, were nominated by a wide group of scouts and then chosen by an international jury. Each artist presents very different but also subtly related interests and creates art which both inspires and challenges. The jury consists of Kathleen Bühler (curator at the Museum of Fine Arts Bern), Ann Goldstein (director at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam), Nicoline van Harskamp (artist and winner of the Prix de Rome 2009), Navid Nuur (artist) and Domeniek Ruyters (editor in chief of Metropolis M).

On March 23, 2013, the nominees for the Prix de Rome are announced. Christian Friedrich, Falke Pisano, Remco Torenbosch and Ola Vasiljeva each receive a budget of € 7500,- to produce a new work in five months, this new work will be on show from 25 October - January 26, 2014 in de Appel arts centre. The award ceremony will take place on 5 November 2013.

The new work specially created for the Prix de Rome by all four nominees will be presented at the exhibition in de Appel arts centre, which has frequently been the exhibition partner of the Prix de Rome in the past. Until the exhibition, the results of the work periods remain a secret.

Publication Prix de Rome
The artists’ work is also the focus of a publication by NAi010 publishers with texts by Hans den Hartog Jager, Stefan Kuiper and Roos van der Lint, among others. The publication is on sale at the bookshop and the webshop of de Appel arts centre.

TV programme AVRO kunstuur

The TV programme AVRO Kunstuur made portraits of all the nominees, broadcasted from 12 October on Dutch television (Ned 2).

Announcement Shortlist

Remco Torenbosch

Ola Vasiljeva

Falke Pisano

Christiaan Friedrich

Announcement winner 5 November

More information about the Prix de Rome

Prix de Rome 2013

affiche, 2013